top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaggie L

"Frenched" by Melanie Harlow Review!




I have always been a reader, mostly fantasy like Harry Potter, A Song of Ice and Fire, The Mortal Instruments series, Lord of the Rings, etc. but very recently, I have been getting into romance and romantic comedies. Maybe this has something to do with the lack of romance in my real life or that I just like a light and fun read. I stumbled across Melanie Harlow’s books with my Kindle Unlimited subscription and instantly fell in love with her writing style and characters.


Even though I am labeling this as a review I can tell you now that I am going to rave about every single one of Melanie Harlow's books. I mostly just wanted to carve out my own space among my other reading hobbies to talk about this new book genre I have come to rather enjoy. My hope is that other people stumble across this and comment their thoughts on the book as well and check it out.


Getting into the book I found right away that I loved Mia and her friends Coco and Erin. One thing I really like is that with Melanie’s books almost everyone gets their own story. Coco and Erin will be in some of my upcoming posts. Mia Devine is a smart, list-making entrepreneur. She finds herself heartbroken at the opening of the book after being dumped by her fiance Tucker Branch a week before the wedding. We meet Mia on her wedding day with her friends Coco and Erin convincing her that she needs to stop planning everything and take her trip the trip to Paris that was supposed to be her honeymoon.


Eventually she agrees and finds herself alone and surrounded by love. Frustrating and thinking she made a mistake she is ready to pack her bags and head back to Detroit when she stumbles into a Canadian Sports Bar. There she finds herself annoyed by the bartender Lucas, a half American, half French professor of psychology who also has a degree and passion for music. In appearance he is not her type with his wild curls and scruff but by the end of the night she agrees to let him show her around Paris the next day in hopes that he can convince her to stay in Paris, instead of leaving with a clouded and miserable view of the city.




At first Lucas is the complete gentlemen and Mia finds herself looking at him differently. Finding that things that normally weren't her type, she now found endearing. I don’t want to spoil too much beyond this point because I don’t want to take away from the story if you haven’t had the chance to read it. One thing I do want to say though, if you like reading hot and heavy scenes then this is your book. I believe the first time I read this book I finished it in a matter of hours, if that tells you the level of pull of Melanie’s writing. It was fun to see Mia, the planner. throw caution to the wind and let herself fall for her Frenchman.


If you enjoyed Frenched, then next I encourage you to read Yanked which is the follow up book that really completes Mia and Lucas’s story after their whirlwind love in France. I will be writing a post on that next week!


Hope you enjoyed this quick review of the romance novel, Frenched. This book really sets in motion the “Harlow Universe” of books with her interconnected stories that can also be read alone! Because I have a little Mia in me I feel like a web chart might be in our future! Make sure you stop by every Wednesday for more and comment below with your thoughts!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page